top of page
AASC group.jpg



of Student



About AASC

Several high schools in Arkansas had active student councils in the 1920’s and early 1930’s, but it was not until March, 1936, that the first statewide meeting was held.  Held at Little Rock High School, it was a two-day joint meeting of student council officers and high school journalism students and sponsors from the following schools: Arkadelphia, Batesville, Blytheville, Camden, Crossett, DeQueen, El Dorado, Fort Smith, University High in Fayetteville, Harrison, Helena, Hope, Hot Springs, Joiner, Lake Village, Little Rock, Monticello, North Little Rock, Paragould, Pine Bluff, Searcy, Texarkana, Walnut Ridge, and Wilson.  No state conferences were held from 1942 – 1946 due to World War II.
       The AASC has the honor of holding the first student leadership workshop in the nation to train student council officers and members.  From the very first, it was agreed that to train only the students would not be doing a complete job for the member schools that attended, so advisers were required to attend in order that they would better understand their role and what the students had experienced at the workshop.

Jamie Harris, Executive Director

1500 Jefferson Avenue
Texarkana, AR  71854
Cell  (903) 276-2906

If you'd like to hear more from a current student or advisor about the incredible opportunities AASC offers, click the button below!

bottom of page